pandalicious's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Power Up and Out

I am dizzy. Like dizzy since last night before sleepage. I don't know why.

Last night at the studio, I was typ-typing away on entry #3 for the day and FWOOSH, the power went out. I was downstairs all by my lonesome.

Now usually when the power goes out, I freeze up much like the possum will when it sees surprising light. I'm the anti-possum. Last night was no exception.

I sat there at the little strawberry iMac, hands still resting on the keyboard. I sat braced for the lights to wash back over me.

Ehh. Lights not washing. Hello? Washingness of lights? Do your thing!!

I hear a whoomp whoomp and a boyfriend voice: "Are you okay down there?"

Anti-Possum: Yeaaaaaah. It's just. DARK.

So, with the absence of anything other than the emergency power lights down each hall and the natural light of 10:45pm flooding through the very few windows there were, we all agreed that the best place to endure the blackout was the roof.

The roof at the studio is great. It is three levels full of scenic rockstar pose potential. Matt has said that most of the bands that record there for any extended period of time discover this and bring their cameras and their leather pants and blue zebra shirts and maybe even their guitars for the ultimate rock star photo.

But this time, we were there because it was pitch black inside the belly of the studio. It was a hazy pink-tinged night in South Philly. The spiral staircase leading to the roof deck promised us that the sky was full of humidity and stifling hot. When we broke free from the climb, we found the deck was not the hot we'd expected, but instead the warm breeze and slightly wet air that you feel when you are in the ocean. But this was no ocean.

The four of us sat on the roof, listening to Amandah recount her Lousy Boyfriend stories and how almost pathetic it is that she still counts him as the most intelligent person she has ever met. He is selfish and manipulative. I see this and Matt sees this. I've LIVED this. Not with him, of course, but with my own version of hell. That's why I started this whole diary in the first place. We talked about this and that for about twenty minutes...

Then the lights started popping back on, one batch at a time. We headed back in and took up where we left off.

About 7 minutes later, FWOOSH. Again with the no seeing things.

The power was out for blocks. Amandah and Jason walked up to CVS to get a flashlight and couldn't get in.

My genius boyfriend opened the side garage and shone his car lights in to the biggest room of the studio. We were able to find two seven day candles, appropriately labeled LUCKY CANDLE.

It was imperative for seeing to happen, because all of our stuff was upstairs in the pitchest of black, not to mention the equipment that needed to be put back in its place when we left.

It would be a challenge without lights. This time, even the emergency lights went out. So we had two tiny flames to guide us.

Then the power came back on! We said our WOOHOOs and then began the mad rush to break everything down before the next crash of electricity. Matt and Jason did the bulk of the work, Amandah talked on the phone and I got my stuff and stayed out of their way.

Power is nice.

Also nice: Seventies shirts with faces on them. I want one.

-----

11:11 a.m. - July 30, '02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nawtynawty
lucidia
valueape
kittynoir
skeezix
ickypop
bethb
pure-milk
andrew
jacksonpritt
slovenly
pinkribbon
perceptions
thermalout
meli
pandabot
bebelua
baileybanana
stomachache
manie