pandalicious's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Naked Gun

Getting fired while you're naked is something strange. Not suggesting you try it, I'm just saying...

It happened to me.

So I took myself a nice hot shower so I could go out to lunch. Actually I was only going to run up to the post office to mail some eBay things so it wasn't even really gonna be a lunchy lunch. Plus I'm sick, right, so it's not like I had big plans. Plus my car title and insurance is in limbo while AllState gets it together, so I'm not keen on driving ANYWHERE.

So I'd just gotten out of the shower and was walking around in nothing more than a towel. I think I stopped to watch Clark Howard on Montel. The phone rang.

It was Debbie. She called to say that she'd just gotten out of a hairy meeting with Ted (the VP of my company) and they decided (which I don't dispute) that the time has come for us to part ways. Ted was never a huge fan of me telecommuting some 800 miles, so I knew it was only a matter of time.

I guess I expected I would be... well ... DRESSED for it or something.

Debbie isn't just my boss, she's my friend. She's been so supportive of me throughout this move and she's rooted for me hanging on to this job as long as I possibly could. She wanted to give me 30 days notice, but Ted wouldn't budge. I get 2 weeks plus a few days. Friday the 3rd of May is my official last day.

Eek.

Eek even though this has got to be good for me. I will meet new people, socialize, learn new things, get out of the house... but I will miss having a great paycheck AND the luxury of not having to get up early or worry that my business dress is too business casual.

But lookie - maybe I can choose where I work. Maybe. Maybe not. We shall see.

4:30 p.m. - April 17, '02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nawtynawty
lucidia
valueape
kittynoir
skeezix
ickypop
bethb
pure-milk
andrew
jacksonpritt
slovenly
pinkribbon
perceptions
thermalout
meli
pandabot
bebelua
baileybanana
stomachache
manie