pandalicious's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Old House

Okay.

Look at me. Still at work at this hour, when I could be getting $50 to eat pie!! That's right, I'm not playin' fool. I was scheduled to be a taste tester for Mrs. Smith's Pies and I had to CANCEL and it was all so I could be here with my sexxy sexxy Tektronix printer and print the surprisingly inspired Minamina Goodsong flyers for their release party next week even though I will probably never ever be offered fifty bucks to taste pie again.

I've had a stressful week or two. My parents moved, which I think I skipped over telling you that part, didn't I? I meant to tell you, I've just been so busy with this and that that if I wasn't busy at work I was probably too busy worrying over my very temporarily missing boyfriend TO work. (I get like that.)

So yeah, I do want to reflect on my 20 years at the good old house... but I haven't had time to let it sink in yet. I'm trying to NOT be sad about it, because being sad over it isn't going to really change that it's not our house anymore. I grew up in that house and I'd always imagined that if I ever had kids, that'd be where their Grandma and Grandpa would live. But times change and in a way, I know it's not going to hurt anyone.

A house is a building that embraces you and who you are and who you may become. In time, homes become like the one family member you can ALWAYS rely on, and maybe that's why it's so hard to imagine someone else calling it home. Or to contemplate why they'd tear down the very walls of you, you beautiful thing. That's what I think is most upsetting. To me, and my parents, our house was beautiful just the way it was. They'd done so much to always show it love by keeping it's appearances and giving it new fresh paint when it needed it, and NOW these people come in and tear it all down. Tearing down the walls to make a better master bath, ripping up the wallpaper, doing random other things. I know that these aren't major things really, but it just goes that extra slapping mile to say it's not yours anymore.

Well. What can I say, really? I know that Matt and I have talked about getting a fixer-upper to fixer up some day. But the major difference is, my old house WASN'T a fixer upper by any stretch of the imagination. Whatever. I'm just overly emotional about it, that's all. =)

Maybe these flyers will be done soon. Maybe I will actually even cut them.

Maybe I am really bored.

7:32 p.m. - May 10th, 2001 :: 7:35pm

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nawtynawty
lucidia
valueape
kittynoir
skeezix
ickypop
bethb
pure-milk
andrew
jacksonpritt
slovenly
pinkribbon
perceptions
thermalout
meli
pandabot
bebelua
baileybanana
stomachache
manie