pandalicious's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sittin' on Chrome

Urrgh. I thought I should write a PROPER entry seeing how its been awhile. And do NOT start singing Creed or I will shoot you!

I decided today that the girl in Matt's band doesn't hate me afterall. She was probably just in a mood of some sort the two times I was around before. They recorded stuff at Matt's parents' house tonight and she was much nicer and we found common ground when I mentioned that the only songs I really started to learn on the bass were Cure songs. She got excited about that and of course, so did I. I *love* them so much. But it was good to find something in common.

It even occurred to me that that might be the key to any kind of relationship; finding something you can relate about.

In other news, which this won't even qualify as news at all, really... but I picked up the latest issue of Weird NJ and have found tons of new and freaky places I want to explore. The website (linked) is pretty informative. Apparently NJ is packed with lore and legend, some of which are undoubtedly of the Urban variety. But nonetheless, unemployed PENTAXed me is craving an excursion of the creepy kind.

Most of the places, though, seem to have the stories of perfectly wonderful cameras being unable to function when at said weird sites, so I am thinking of bringing a camera that can be easily parted with. Also one that snaps pix fast without me having to focus. Because I am a big chicken when I get ubercreeped out when it comes right down to it.

I've always wanted to go on a ghost hunt but deep down inside, I'd prefer to go in the day time. =) Me and my cousin Beckie want to take a Spooky Road Trip some day and just visit all the legendary haunts. I think it'd be a good time. Right up there on my list of cross country thrifting.

I cannot get enough of the hot thrift store action. It may or may not be sad. I can't decide. I think if I would stop turning up jewels like once a week or so, I might get worn out and give up. But the notion that you can find something great - it just keeps me coming back for more. At least (I guess) I am actually selling a good bit of the stuff for a profit so it's not just a pathetic hobby. It's income and something I love doing anyway.

I got an Eames/Panton era chrome floor lamp with a black patent shade for $12. It's magnifique and I think this will be one of the 'keepers' at least for a few years. It's kind of like this but instead of ending where these do, it goes up about 3 inches and then there is a thick piece of glass that serves as a table. From there it goes up about 3 more feet, just chrome pole stylee. The black patent lampshade is in perfect shape and the chrome is still shiny. It was funny, too, all these antique dealer types at Village Thrift were so literally DROOLING over this when they saw it in my buggy! I was being stalked by these two guys who did follow me around for awhile in hopes that I would change my mind.

Also found an old fiberglass lampshade straight out of the 50's. At a totally different thrift store.

Do you see why I'm addicted? I adore the 50's... everything from fashions to cars to kitchens and decor. The toys. I love the Eames era space age stuff too.

Yeah. That's me. Addicted.

But for now, I'm gonna go snuggle up with my boy and our gators.

...

12:27 a.m. - June 10, '02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nawtynawty
lucidia
valueape
kittynoir
skeezix
ickypop
bethb
pure-milk
andrew
jacksonpritt
slovenly
pinkribbon
perceptions
thermalout
meli
pandabot
bebelua
baileybanana
stomachache
manie